Ordinary Time

According to the church calendar, Ordinary Time is the time in between liturgical seasons. Rather than meaning common or mundane, the term “ordinary” (derived from the Latin root ordo) denotes ordered or counted time (First Sunday, Second Sunday, etc.). The period of Ordinary Time after Pentecost marks the passage of time between Trinity Sunday and Christ the King Sunday, which is the final Sunday of the liturgical year. During this portion of Ordinary Time we focus on transformation and growth, which are symbolized by fresh flowers and green linens on the altar. 

Current series

Reconstructing Romans

How do you help different groups of people with different ways of living, imagine and ultimately desire, life together? This is the rhetorical task of Paul in Romans. The revelation of Jesus as messiah leads Paul to reimagine the scriptures, people groups, salvation, and community. Unfortunately, since the medieval age and Luther’s focus on individual salvation, Romans has often been used to divide people and to debase those who do not believe specific precepts. In this sermon series, we will examine Paul’s provocative attempt to knock down walls of hostility in Jesus’ name. Furthermore, we will follow in Paul’s footsteps to consider how the messiah, as revealed through Jesus, helps us to reimagine and ultimately desire life together in a world rife with difference.

Series outline

June 16th, Trinity Sunday/First Sunday after Pentecost
An Orientation to Romans

June 23rd, Second Sunday after Pentecost
Romans 1-2, Anthropology

June 30th, Third Sunday after Pentecost
Romans 3-4, Theology Proper

July 7th, Fourth Sunday after Pentecost
Romans 5-8, Soteriology

July 14th, Fifth Sunday after Pentecost
Romans 9-11, Missiology

July 21st, Sixth Sunday after Pentecost
Romans 12-13, Ecclesiology, Part I.

July 28th, Seventh Sunday after Pentecost
Romans 14-16, Ecclesiology, Part II.